Curly hair and Hot Rollers! Your new addiction.


I Love hot rollers for naturally curly hair! I have always been a fan of the retro glam mod, but with curly hair it goes to another level, and no matter how much I google “hot rollers curly hair” I don’t find much about the topic in the natural hair community, so I decided to make my own post.

Some iconic women who can really rock the hot roller sets:

Dita Von Tesse


Her hair is bone straight and she gets this beautiful results, imagine what you can do with naturally curly hair.

Angelique Noire


Simply gorgeous, adding diversity to the pinup scene.

After seeing these lovely ladies I hope I have motivated you to try this wonderful tool.

How to roller set:


Above is a standard illustration of the basic roller set, depending on what you want to achieve it can vary, but for begginers this is easy enough.

Part your hair in 3 sections right, middle, left and create 3 more subsections for a total of 9. Most hot rollers sets contain 20 or so rollers so you can then subdivide those 9 sections in 2, becoming 18. I use all 20 rollers, but Dita von Tesse recommends 24 (need to buy a few extra ones)

Hair must be clean and can be either air dried or blow dried. Blow drying gives sleeker results but if you dread heat a stretched air dried style or even a yesterday’s wash and go is ok. Use heat protector (oil based, since hair must be 100% dry before rolling).

Leave the rollers in place until they have cooled down, in the meantime eat breakfast, do your make up, pack up lunch, get dressed and voilà you are ready for a glam day.

My hot roller set


Remington Style KF20i ionic rollers

They take about 15 minutes to heat, so in order to save time I connect them while I shower. I like using a heat protect glove, since the corners of the roller can get a bit too hot for my liking, but it is not mandatory you won’t get burnt easily or anything.

For more info on setting techniques visit this link  How to roller set!


Some thoughts for natural curly hair:

  1. You already have natural volume, use it! No need to back brush to get the same effect as straight limp hair.
  2. Brushing if you want a very sleek look should be done carefully or you will end up with frizz, I prefer to smooth with my slightly oiled hands.
  3. If the humidity is high use lots of antihumectants and hairspray (I currently use osis+ antifrizz serum, loreal hairspray, and I def need to add more products for the rainy season).
  4. Use heat protectant, non water based. I am currently using garnier wonder oil.
  5. Oil your hands slightly when removing the rollers to avoid frizz.
  6. When a wash and go comes out crappy, cover your ends with coconut oil over night (I used rainforest coconut oil blend by the body shop last night) sleep with loose braids and detangle gently in the morning (I used fingers and tangle teezer).
  7. Bad wash and go? No problem save it with a quick next day retro glam set!
  8. Be a full, confident, retro glam, glamorously fabulous Diva!

Let me know if you are also a vintage hair lover with natural hair.

The Hair Lab Doctor

Leave a Reply

