The shock prevented me from getting angry.

Picture this a nice restaurant, at dinner time, a full house, a party of 6 having enjoyed a wonderful meal and as we are satisfied with our food we are happily drinking coffee and having a generally nice conversation about Japanese culture, traveling in Asia and sharing pictures of lovely puppies, a pair of adorable Chihuahuas.

Then silence ensues, the unthinkable has happened. Someone pulled one of my locks of hair.

I was unaware of the fact at first but a pulling sensation made me turn around and as I do so I see the smiling face of a waitress with a handful of dirty dishes quickly drifting away from our now silent table.

The shock at the realization of what had just happened prevented me from getting angry: sanitary regulations had been broken, a food handler was manipulating aloe vera covered hair!

How can this be? This is a restaurant, sanitation must be respected! The rules must be observed.

Meanwhile my husband was getting very very pale, I never expected he could be paler but he could. He expected rage, indignation or something terrible unleashed towards the waitress. What followed was more silence, and subsequently the half of the table that belonged to the healthcare sector, myself included, started to discuss the many levels of disgust at the situation that had just happened.

We wondered whether or not and how often she washed her hands and what madness overcame her to do such a thing as to handle hair & food at the same time, trying to divert the real issue.

She touched me without my permission and that was incredibly rude.

Meanwhile my husband continued to be silent waiting for the dragon to awake…and then…

Dracarys

dracarys2

I wrote the above story, because I truly did not get angry because of the social situation in which it happened, but it did bother me and I wanted to express my discomfort to the waitress regarding her actions in respect to my hair.

I felt bad about my husband because he might have needed to translate in case I could not communicate my point effectively and he truly expected me to feel bad about what she did because well it was not OK and we have talked about natural hair/ curly hair related issues in other countries.

I wish this was fictional story, but it is not. Ok I am not the mother of dragons or anything else but I did feel my personal space violated and I found it very offensive having my hair touched, this had never happened to me before and now I truly understand all the memes about “Don’t touch my hair”

Here is how I handled the situation

I am a patient person, but I do not tolerate disrespect and I felt disrespected. I had time to process and think. Instead of blasting her or complaining to the manager I kept looking for her to explain to her, personally, what she had just done and why she should never do it again; she had straight hair in a messy bun.

It turned out she did not speak English nor German fluently and from what I understood she is from Hungary and said the word beautiful in German, so maybe her actions did not come from a bad place, but definitively disrespected me and my party and invaded my personal space. She remained quiet and with a neutral stare as I explained the best way I could, in German, why she should not touch my hair and how in doing so she was invading my privacy.

I obviously did not go into details about the cleanliness issue, but I highlighted how disrespectful it is to touch another person without their consent and with no previous notice. Once I told her to never ever do something like that again if she encounters another person with curly hair she started looking worried & uncomfortable, maybe she did know german after all, my intent was not to make her as uncomfortable as she had made me and my husband; ย but to educate her in the hopes that she does not do this to any other person she encounters that has curls.

This was an unpleasant situation for all of us but we paid our bill in peace and did not allow it to ruin the rest of the evening. I asked the rest of my party their thoughts and everyone agreed that I did the right thing. I felt the need to help least one person Overcome their fear of causing discomfort, and that person was me.

What would you have done? Would you have stayed quiet? Would you have gotten angry?

Has anybody ever touched your curls without your permission?
How would you have responded to this situation?

I am a Khaleesi crowned in my curls.

PS. I am a Game of thrones fan as you may have noticed and I used that context to lighten up the mood of this very real issue for people with curly hair.

Cheers,

HairLabMD

4 thoughts on “The shock prevented me from getting angry.

  1. It is great that you did not get angry or go “Dracarys”… which would have been a more expected reaction!! Hehe…

    I so so soooo laughed when I read that your husband remained silent…coz mine would have done the same… hubbys know that we are very protective of our hair!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    You handled it pretty well. This was the best way to be calm and to explain to her not to repeat with anyone. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your comment! I contemplated staying quite, or talking with the manager but neither would help what I really wanted to, which was to educate her. According to hubby and everyone involved I was polite and conveyed my message, whether or not we got lost in translation I do not know but I think she could understand my meaning by her reaction. I hope she does not do it again, it’s not her fault for not knowing but I am also not a pet and neither is my fault having curly hair. PS. I am glad you found part of the story funny ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜

      Like

  2. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ this bothers me so much! My aunt decided she was going to run her fingers through my hair, ruining the style it was in. I didn’t want to say anything because it was my aunt, so I let her slide that time. When she tried it again, I curved her attempt to touch it, and explained why she shouldn’t touch natural hair. I guess she took it well, she hasn’t attempted to touch it again. I couldn’t imagine a stranger touching my hair, I’d be mortified!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah! With family is different but asking permission first should be a must! It was a freshly wash day 1 curl, which this person did not know but her hand where even dirty you know she has dirty plates on her other hand wth! I know a lot of people would have stayed silent but I needed to tell her that such behavior is wrong and really it is not being picky, it is just that curly hair is super delicate and I am not part of a petting zoo to have my hair touched by random people.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment